Tumpline Packs?

Home Forums Gear for the trip Tumpline Packs?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    Charlie
    Participant

I’m not saying my faded Duluth Pack needs replacement yet — I just had the flap mended where the squirrels chewed through it a few years back — but I’d like to hear if there’s a more “modern” canoe pack out there that still sports a tumpline?

Micmac
    Participant

I think you would like the packs designed and manufactured by Frost River

Canadienne
    Participant

I know Ostrom makes a Cordura nylon pack called the ‘Algonquin Canoe Pack’ with a removable tumpline. They are spendy though.
    http://www.ostrompacks.com/canoef.htm

Also if you ever use the 60L blue barrels; Headstrong make s a harness that uses a tumpline (I own one and love it).
    http://www.headstrongpacks.com/#

kcanoe
    Keymaster

For the newbie here, what is a tumpline? I looked at the links Canadienne posted (thanks!) but I don’t see a picture of one being used, and I can’t identify the tumpline on those pack images — is there a simple definition or a good link out there?

thanks!

Canadienne
    Participant

Below are a couple of links that better illustrate a tumpline. It is basically an additional strap that attaches to the pack and is placed around the top of your head. This will distribute the weight between your neck, shoulders and hips making it easier to carry heavier loads.

Tumpline

Photo

kcanoe
    Keymaster

thanks Canadienne! that wikipedia — what doesn’t it cover?
    – kcanoe

Charlie
    Participant

Since this thread got started with my old Duluth Pack, I thought folks might be intereted in this recent Duluth News-Tribune story about the Duluth Pack company.

They seem to be going stronger than ever.

dtumbleson
    Participant