Latest Season Trip

Home Forums Advanced Paddlers Latest Season Trip

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Boneli
    Participant

What is the latest paddling season you have taken and where?

I have been enjoying BWCA and Quetico in October for past three years now and have had really enjoyable weather. Sometime big winds will affect our travel but a good paddling partner is always nice to have. What kind of distance do you paddle and how far in to the interior have you gone?

Barry

Canadienne
    Participant

The last three years I have taken trips in Mid-October into the BW. This year will be our latest as we are going from Oct. 18-21.

Last October we awoke to skim of ice on the S. Kawishiwi, so it was really cold all trip and we were windblown most of the trip. We generally only paddle of few lakes in just in case we need to exit quickly for one reason or the other.

Two years ago we went into Little Gabbro and entered at about 12:15 AM. We did this since the outfitter (who shall remain nameless) forgot to leave the bunkhouse unlocked for us. It turned out to be a wonderful journey in under a full moon and clear skies. We rolled into camp about 3:30 am and all stayed up for the sunrise. It was amazing.

You can view some pictures HERE.
    Hopefully this link works

Buck47
    Participant

Beautiful Pictures!!

My wife is bugging me about going into the BWCA early October.. You might of convinced me I should do it.

Thanks again!!

kcanoe
    Keymaster

those pics are stunning — and chilling, in a good way! thanks for sharing,

kcanoe

Charlie
    Participant

I was on the Isabella River (BWCA) in mid-late October last year. over teachers’ convention weekend. Went with a colelge buddy, his 14-year-old son, and my 12-year-old stepson.