Open canoe on Lake Superior

Home Forums Advanced Paddlers Open canoe on Lake Superior

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    cowboy
    Participant

I’m not an expert w/the canoe but I’m working on it. Would like to get up on Superior with a canoe but all the info/articles/etc. on it I see has to do with sea kayaks! What is a person in for with an open canoe? Recognizing one needs as much skill as possible, the right canoe, etc… What level of danger is one in for? Any info on this would be appreciated. I have two canoes at the present; an Old Town, kevlar, Canadienne 17′ and a Bell, royalex, Prospector, 16′.
    Thanks ahead of time!

Dan Miller
    Participant

Run (don’t walk) to whereever you have to go to latch onto a copy of Bill Mason’s film “Waterwalker” (http://www.nfb.ca/collection/films/fiche/?id=15095&v=h&lg=en&exp=$%7bwaterwalker%7d)

Cheers,
    Dan

houlibar
    Participant

I canoed on Superior over the summer. I’m just a recreational paddler with a heavy, flat bottom boat that’s easy to tip. So I canoe on sections of the lake with sandy beaches and avoid the rocks and cliffs. That way if we become swimmers it’s an easy reach to pull the swamped boat up on the beach and start over again.

The big danger of Superior is of course the low water temperature. Other challenges to paddlers are wind, swell and choppy waves.

Beyond recreational canoeing on the lake, posessing both skill and a canoe you have confidence in should be a must. That is, you and any passengers should know how to refloat a capsized canoe and get back into it quick enough to avoid hyperthermia.

Charlie
    Participant

I’d add, if you plan to do actual tripping on the big lake, that you have a very patient attitude when it comes to the weather and conditions.

I haven’t tripped on Superior, but I have been on other big water/cold water bodies. I think keeping yourself out of bad situations to begin with is good strategy.